Middle School English Teacher of the Year Award

The Michigan Council of Teachers of English Middle School Teacher of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding English educator who teaches in sixth through eighth grades.


To be considered for the award, the ideal nominee…

  • demonstrates a strong commitment to creating a caring and respectful climate conducive to effective teaching and learning.
  • utilizes a variety of teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students.
  • demonstrates a keen ability to meet the developmental needs of middle level learners.
  • has earned the respect and admiration of colleagues and students.
  • has taught for at least 5 years OR has an established body of work in education.
  • provides service to the profession at the local, state, or national level through leadership, presentations, or publications.

The nominator is responsible for submitting the nominee’s information and a brief statement describing why the nominee is deserving of the Middle School English Teacher of the Year Award.

Nominees may be recommended by colleagues from the local school district or their Regional Representative. Before submitting a nomination, please check the requirements for the award.

Nominees will be contacted by section chairs once the nomination window closes to request additional award materials.

Recipients will be recognized at MCTE’s spring conference.

Click here to nominate a colleague today for the Middle School Teacher of the Year Award.


Past Honorees

The MCTE introduced the Middle School English Teacher of the Year Award in 2013. Below are all past honorees.


2023-2024* Hawanya Urquhart, Liberty Middle School, Plymouth-Canton Schools
2022 No honoree
2021 No honoree
2020 No honoree
2019 Stephanie Hampton, Maple Street Magnet Middle School, Kalamazoo
2018 Jane Ingles-Garver, Charlevoix Elementary School
2017 Kristine Brickey, Mason Middle School
2016 Aram Kabodian, MacDonald Middle School
2015 Gail Turnwald, Shepherd Middle School
2014 Special award to Julie Mix-Thibault, MCTE Urban Diversity Chair
2013 Rebecca Gillis, Evart Public Schools

* Beginning in 2023, honorees hold their award designation for the school year.