Elementary English Teacher of the Year

The Michigan Council of Teachers of English Elementary Teacher of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding literacy educator who teaches in kindergarten through fifth grades.

To be considered for the award, the ideal nominee…

  • demonstrates a strong commitment to creating a caring and respectful climate conducive to effective teaching and learning.
  • utilizes a variety of teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students.
  • shows originality and unique perspectives in the teaching of language arts.
  • has earned the respect and admiration of colleagues and students.
  • is a member of MCTE and has taught for at least 10 years.
  • provides service to the profession at the local, state, or national level through leadership, presentations, or publications.

The nominator is responsible for submitting the honoree’s resume and letters of support from at least TWO different constituencies — principal, supervisor, chairperson, peer, parent or student — about contributions in the classroom and excellent practices exhibited by the recipient.

Nominees may be recommended by colleagues from the local school district or a member of MCTE. Before submitting a nomination, please check the requirements for the award.

Recipients will be recognized at the MCTE annual fall conference.

Click here to nominate a colleague today for the Elementary Teacher of the Year Award.


Past Honorees

The MCTE introduced the Elementary English Teacher of the Year Award in 2012. Below are all past honorees.


2019 Emily Hoekstra, Ottawa Elementary School, Petoskey
2018 Heather Jensen, Hillside Elementary School
2017 Christopher Working, Grand Haven Area Public Schools
2016 Elena Waugh, Bath Elementary School
2015 Jill Hoort, Central Elementary School, Okemos
2014 Jeanne Chatel Tate, Alanson Public Schools
2013 Jenny M. Lee, Williams Elementary, Jonesville Public Schools
2012 Suzanne E. Nayback, Central Elementary School, Petoskey Public Schools