MCTE Awards

Each year, the Michigan Council of Teachers of English recognizes amazing English educators in our State with five distinct awards. Click on each award to learn more about the criteria and timelines, or to nominate a teacher.

The Call for Nominations Is Now Open!

Nominate an outstanding teacher for one of MCTE’s five awards!

Elementary Teacher of the Year

Charles Carpenter Fries Award

Middle School Teacher of the Year

Ray H. Lawson Award

High School Teacher of the Year

The Touchstone Award (discontinued)